#wsl #atletas 

Stage Set For Finals Day at GWM Sydney Surf Pro

Short Day of Competition Sees Women’s Semifinalists Decided; Nichols and Fitzgibbons Set Up a Finals Day Rematch at Narrabeen; More Available at WorldSurfLeague.com

13/Mai/2024 - WSL

NORTH NARRABEEN, Sydney, NSW, Australia (Monday, May 13, 2024) After a short day of competition at North Narrabeen, the women’s Semifinalists were decided at the GWM Sydney Surf Pro presented by Bonsoy, Stop No. 2 of the 2024 World Surf League (WSL) Challenger Series (CS). As expected, cross-onshore winds began to increase throughout the morning and with lighter winds expected tomorrow morning, the event was put on standby with another call to be made in the morning when more favourable conditions are expected to return. 

Short Day of Competition Sees Women’s Semifinalists Decided 

The opening heat of the day saw Nadia Erostarbe (EUK) guarantee an equal career-best result with a Semifinal berth in Sydney thanks to a heat win over Vahine Fierro (FRA). In a tough, low-tide matchup, Erostarbe was able to find the best waves of the heat and earn an 11.50 two-wave combination (out of a possible 20) to take the win. Erostarbe will now take on young gun Erin Brooks (HAW) in Semifinal 1 when competition resumes. 

Brooks was able to earn her spot in the Semifinal after she overcame fellow goofy-footer Alyssa Spencer (USA) in Quarterfinal 2. Brooks took control of the heat early and exercised priority like a veteran, leaving Spencer chasing scores for the majority of the matchup. Brooks moves one step closer to a third straight Challenger Series event Final and win. 

“That heat was super tough,” Brooks said. “The waves weren’t too great and we were going back and forth the whole heat, and I was glad it went my way. I knew at the end if a wave came and Alyssa got it, she could easily win as she is such a great surfer. It feels good to back up my win last week with a Semifinal, but I know how hard it is to qualify, so I haven’t been thinking too much about it, as it’s a long year. I’m happy that I’ve been able to get more aggressive in my heats. I used to be more passive, but I’m able to push my competitors and sit on them a bit more, which needs to happen.”

Nichols and Fitzgibbons Set Up a Finals Day Rematch at Narrabeen 

Isabella Nichols (AUS) and Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) have set up a rematch of last year’s GWM Sydney Surf Pro Final. The two former Championship Tour (CT) competitors are due to meet in the Semifinals when competition resumes. Fitzgibbons looked sharp once again in her Quarterfinal heat against Bella Kenworthy (USA), winning with the highest heat total of the day, a 15.43. 

Nichols took on form surfer Yolanda Hopkins (POR) in the last heat of the day, with Hopkins looking to hold the advantage for the majority of the heat. Nichols waited for almost half the heat before dropping a 7.00 for a series of powerful, critical snaps, then backed it up for a heat total of 13.60, which was enough for her to move into her second Semifinal for the Challenger Series season. Nichols will also be looking for back-to-back wins here in Sydney but will once again need to overcome an in-form Fitzgibbons to get there.

The next call will be tomorrow, Tuesday, May 14, at 7:15 a.m. AEST for a possible 7:35 a.m. start.

GWM Sydney Surf Pro Presented By Bonsoy Women’s Quarterfinal Results: 

HEAT 1: Nadia Erostarbe (EUK) 11.50 DEF. Vahine Fierro (FRA) 8.50

HEAT 2: Erin Brooks (CAN) 11.90 DEF. Alyssa Spencer (USA) 10.50

HEAT 3: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 15.43 DEF. Bella Kenworthy (USA) 13.00

HEAT 4: Isabella Nichols (AUS) 13.60 DEF. Yolanda Hopkins (POR) 11.33

GWM Sydney Surf Pro Presented By Bonsoy Women’s Semifinal Matchups: 

HEAT 1: Nadia Erostarbe (EUK) vs. Erin Brooks (CAN)

HEAT 2: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) vs. Isabella Nichols (AUS)

GWM Sydney Surf Pro Presented By Bonsoy Men's Quarterfinal Matchups: 

HEAT 1: Ian Gouveia (BRA) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)

HEAT 2: Alejo Muniz (BRA) vs. Samuel Pupo (BRA)

HEAT 3: Eli Hanneman (HAW) vs. Jordan Lawler (AUS)

HEAT 4: Taro Watanabe (USA) vs. Gatien Delahaye (FRA)